Australian MedTech Innovation - The Clinical Research landscape

9:00am Thursday, 11 May 2017
4:30pm Thursday, 11 May 2017
MedTech Forum
Medtronic Office
5 Alma Road
Macquarie Park, New South Wales 2113

This full day forum will provide an update of ongoing reforms in clinical research, its implementation progress, roadblocks and success seen thus far to inform whether the long term goal of leading the world in clinical trials research is attainable. In addition, sponsors, start-ups companies and clinical researchers will have an opportunity to discuss and share their invaluable experience from years of conducting medical devices clinical trials in Australia.

Speakers include:

  • Falko Thiele, Director Clinical and Regulatory Affairs, Biotronik Australia
  • Anne O’Neill, NSW Health Office for Health and Medical Research
  • Dr. Gordon McGurk, Director of Clinical Trials Section, National Health and Medical Research Council
  • Prof. Gregg Suaning, Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering, UNSW
  • Prof. Ian Kerridge, Director of PRAXIS Australia, Professor of Bioethics and Medicine at the Centre for Values, Ethics and the Law in Medicine (VELiM) at the University of Sydney
  • Hugo de Jong, Director R&D, PWC
  • Prof. Tony Weiss, Biochemistry & Molecular Biotechnology at the University of Sydney, Scientific Founder of Elastagen
  • Sue MacLeman, CEO MTP Connect
  • Simon Windsor, Project Officer, Bellberry
  • Ben Wright, Chief Innovation Officer & Head of Investment Strategy, Cicada
  • Prof. Robyn Guymer, Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Melbourne
  • Dr. John Gillespie, Healthcare Economics & Reimbursement, Medtronic ANZ, Sydney

Facilitated by: Christy Thiel, Director Clinical Affairs APAC, Edwards Lifesciences

Member rate: $55 Non member rate: $92

For more information on speaker & session times please View the Program

Sold Out

Contact Information

If you need any assistance with registration, please give us call.

MTAA Events

Additional Information

Speaker Biographies

Falko Thiele

Anne O'Neill

Dr. Gordon McGurk

 Prof. Gregg Jorgen Suaning

Prof. Ian Kerridge

Hugo de Jong

Prof. Tony Weiss

Sue MacLeman

 Simon Windsor

Ben Wright

Prof. Robyn Guymer

Dr. John Gillespie

Read full speaker biographies here