Outstanding Achievement Award

Outstanding Achievement Award

This award recognises an individual who has contributed in an exceptional way to the medical technology industry in Australia. This may be evidenced through their contribution to the industry development, improvement in patient outcomes or excellence in leadership or innovation. Nominations are accepted regardless of MTAA membership.


2023: Liz Carnabuci, Medtronic

Liz is an experienced and strategic communicator with more than 25 years of sales and marketing experienced in the healthcare industry in ANZ, China and APAC markets. She is committed to commercial excellence and is passionate about developing people and designing programmes to build talent, promote inclusion and drive organisational success. She is very passionate about healthcare and helping ensure that Australia continues to provide a sustainable and world-class healthcare system that can be accessed by everyone.

Liz is currently Vice President, Enterprise Accounts and Services for Medtronic ANZ and Japan and is also Vice President Asia Pacific and Greater China for Medtronic's Diabetes business.

As one of MTAA's Board of Directors, she has a solid understanding of the duties and key governance principles and strategies to drive board success.



2022: Doug Symonds, Medtronic

Over the last two years, Doug Symonds has played a leading and crucial role in supporting the industry through driving PL Reforms.

Doug is an active member of the Reimbursement Committee – and has led critical work involving the committee and it’s multiple workstreams/groups. This included supporting the MTAA with its negotiations on PL reforms objectives and most recently, the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding for the policy parameters of the Prostheses List Reforms.

He also worked with the Department and the MTAA on the PL assessment pathways, PL re-grouping, and bundling work to help determine alternative funding mechanisms with respect to general use items being taken off the PL.

In addition to his role on the Reimbursement Committee, he is also an active member of the MTAA Cardiac Forum at which he played a key role in helping establish an additional review on technical services.

Doug’s knowledge, experience, expertise and passion as well as his contributions over the last two years demonstrate that he is a strong advocate of the Medical Technology Industry’s goals and objectives. 




2021: Warren Bingham, MedTech International

Warren is being recognised for his role in improving the lives of thousands of people, expanding clinical practice for hundreds of Gastroenterologists helping them to save lives and enhance human health.

Warren has been a representative for several industry groups including the AusMedtech’s National Advisory Committee, chair of the Medtech and Life-science committee of the Australia/Israel Chamber of Commerce and currently a Board member of Research Australia.



2020: Professor Lyn Griffiths, Queensland University of Technology



2019: George Faithfull, Stryker



2018: Gavin Fox-Smith, Johnson & Johnson Medical 



2017: Dr Elisa Mokany, Speedx



2016: Chelsea Cornelius, Analytica



2015: Tanya Hall, Hearts 4 Heart



2014: Professor Karen Reynolds, Medical Device Partnering Program, Flinders University